Arctic Council Adds 6 Nations as Observer States, Including China

The resource-rich Arctic is attracting international interest, and the Arctic Council has added six nations. Besides traditional nations with territory in the Arctic, new members with observer status include China, India, Italy, Japan, Singapore, South Korea, reports the New York Times. A similar application for the European Union as member with observer status was postponed. “With the Arctic ice melting, the region’s abundant supplies of oil, gas and minerals have become newly accessible, as have shortened shipping routes and open water for commercial fishing, setting off a global competition for influence and economic opportunities far beyond the nations that border the Arctic,” writes Steven Lee Myers. The council suggests that membership with observer status automatically includes recognition that full members, with territory reaching above 66.5°N, have sovereignty over the Arctic region, an area consisting mostly of ocean. – YaleGlobal

Arctic Council Adds 6 Nations as Observer States, Including China

Climate change, minerals complicate Arctic politics
Steven Lee Myers
Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Click here for the article in the New York Times.

© 2013 The New York Times Company

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.